A Home to Build In

Take a look at a small piece of my heart, believed to be missing until today: Handmade unfinished dollhouse Interior handmade unfinished dollhouse

My grandparents were building this together as a hobby many years ago, then gave it to my mother to finish.  I inherited it today.  I didn’t realize until my mother brought it down how much I had missed it.  As a child I dreamed about finishing it, but had no idea how.  Well, let me tell you, the boxes of craft supplies and dressers full of fabric I have amassed over the years in my basement have been waiting their whole lives for this moment.    The house comes with a dusty box of materials, and a few miniature furniture building kits.  Maybe it is because I had a migraine last night and I’m always a little maudlin and profoundly grateful afterwards….but, oh, this house is a treasure.  Oh, my heart.

IMG_1645 IMG_1644 IMG_1649 IMG_1648 IMG_1643 IMG_1651Look at this little gem!  My grandparents made this and I love it so!

Dollhouse grandfather clockAnd I’m not the only one…..A certain little girl found me and her grandma sorting through dusty boxes in the basement and is more than ready to fill up the rooms of this amazing house.

dollhouse room, with bedsIf you need me, I’ll be elbow-deep in my long-lost love.

5 thoughts on “A Home to Build In

Leave a Reply

