Tips from a Reform(ing) Slob

This is not a confession.  Everyone who knows me, knows I’m a slob.  But I want to be a reformed slob, a once-was slob.  I really do.

And I have two new mantras that are helping me do it.

1.  The two-minute rule.  I’m a list-writer.  It is the only way I can remember all the things.  But what I really like to do is sit down with a cup of tea and write out my list.  The trouble comes when I write down ALL the things.  All the stupid things just so I can cross something off and feel accomplished at the end of the day.  Write the check, brush the cats, clear the dishes, brush the teeth…..Enter the two-minute rule a friend introduced a couple weeks ago during a 10-day clean-sweep challenge.  If you can do it in less than two minutes, don’t write it down.  Just go do it.

Really.

The other rule, is essentially the same, just better.

2. “Clean that shit up.”  When you lament, publicly, that you really would move to a new home rather than clean up the gallon of juice that spilled under the refrigerator, because you’re nothing if not all about honesty, you find which side of the filth line your friends fall on.  And one of those friends tells you, point-blank, “Still. Clean that shit up.”  And you love it.  You were just waiting for someone to say that, apparently.

A few weeks in to this new era and  good things are happening.  Great things, even.  It turns out when you clean up the stuff and take care of the stuff and just do the stuff, plants get watered and thrive.

For the life of me, I can not remember what this is called.  But it's blooming!   Watering for the win!
For the life of me, I can not remember what this is called. But it is blooming! Watering for the win!

Tables and counter tops are clean.  Beds are made.  Well, mine is.

A well-made bed
Yep, There are TWO dream catchers above this, her secondary bed.

Making dinner doesn’t involve finding a clean knife or having to find a spot, any spot, to put something down.  My list is shorter, my house is cleaner, and I actually feel better.  Granted, I’m slipping in my reformation while I sit down to write about not writing my to-do list….but I’ll still take it.  Someday I’ll be conditioned to write nothing and just do the thing.  And then….I might not even need outside validation for doing it, but let’s not get too crazy here.

2 thoughts on “Tips from a Reform(ing) Slob

  1. I totally love making lists…and I even add things later that I already did but want to check off so I add them to the list. (Even better with tea!)

Leave a Reply

