No Xmas Cards

Are you flooded with catalogs already?  I am. It starts in October and turns to a deluge. Toys. Puffy vests. Plaids. Glitter. Shiny. It’s like a war-boy’s death approaches, all this chrome in my mail box.

After my fifth sample Minted card with foil-pressed letters, I’ve decided not to do Christmas cards this year.  They’re too precious.  Too ostentatious.  Gold foil??  I’d be delighted to receive such a beautiful card.  I love getting pictures of people’s gorgeous families, and especially love the ones where someone is not thrilled about being in the picture.  But I ‘m not wading through gallery choice of gold foil and glitter and the staging the perfect picture of my kids this year.

I’m not putting on our annual Solstice Spectacular, either.  Last year I tried to go small for the holidays and it still felt like too much.  Maybe it’s a bah-humbug kind of year, but I actually just have hope that it will be calm and lovely instead of garish and rushed and overdone.  Maybe.  There’s always a chance I’ll give up and lay down on a shelf in Target like the priest in the window on Easter morning in Chocolat.

chocolat
#spiritanimal

What are holiday cards for?  Well-wishing for the season and new year?  Plus a little piece of something beautiful and peaceful?  Well, here you all go.  I hope you are well this holiday season.  I hope you find moments with your loved ones that make all the external noise disappear.  I hope you have time for hot chocolate and that you experience the joy and wonder that my kids do at the first snow.  And as for a little piece of something pretty, this is what caught my eye looking through this year’s pictures so far, in no particular order.  Enjoy and happy, early holidays.

20160109_142224-2
Let’s Go For a Ride
20160617_062053
Out for a run
img_8249
First snow
img_8644
Forward
img_8858
Sunset
img_9192
Sunset with a beverage
img_0024-2
To the Parthenon!
img_0414
Big Sky Country
img_0419
Sky Over Yellowstone in August

img_0751

img_0793
Adventurers

img_0879

img_1750
A girl and her millipede, out for a walk
img_1890-2
Phi and Ox-Bow, somewhere over Louisiana
img_1980
The Best of New Orleans
img_2053-2
Just passing through

img_9254

img_9327
Traditional Crafting
img_9480-2
Home
img_9863-2
“Did you see the famly of Ammonites on the Beach??”
img_9710
May you find what you’re looking for this season and new year.

 

Leave a Reply

